Skip to main content

Shortlist for the 20th Annual Broadcast Awards Announced

By December 1, 2014

The shortlist for the 2015 Broadcast Awards has been announced and SPA would like to congratulate all of the nominated productions, especially our clients who have nominations in 7 different categories having worked on 21 nominated productions.

This year marks the 20th Anniversary of the awards which celebrate drama, comedy and entertainment that broadcasters and producers have developed over the year, which are then voted for by TV professionals.

Nominated in the Best Children’s Programme category is Gangsta Granny (Jeremy Brown – Sound Recordist, Additional Photography), a comedy about a young boy who decides to steal the crown jewels with his ex-con grandmother.

The Best Comedy Programme award features Harry and Paul’s story of Twos (Tom Hannibal – Assistant Editor), Rev (Dave Marsh – DoP, Helen Ostler – 1st AD, Sam Spurgeon – Camera Trainee), Toast of London (Peter Edwards – DoP) and Uncle (Ed Moore – Camera Operator, Dailies).

Best Drama Series or Serial include nominations for Happy Valley (Vince McGahon – Camera Operator, Dailies), Penny Dreadful (Orla Carroll – Hairdresser to Eva Green, Vince McGahon – Camera Operator), Sherlock (Vince McGahon – Steadicam Operator, Lee Sharp – 2nd Boom Operator), and Hinterland (Mali Evans – Editor).  

In the Best Multichannel Programme category nominations include Drifters (Dave Marsh – DoP, Sam Spurgeon – DIT), Glue (Jon Midlane – 1st AD, Rick Woollard – Camera Operator, Dailies), Mr Sloane (Dan Gethic – Editor, Jo Vale –2nd Boom Operator, Dailies), My Mad Fat Diary (Dave Marsh – DoP, Helen Ostler –1st AD) and Uncle (Ed Moore – Camera Operator, Dailies).

The Competition in Best Original Programme Glasgow Girls (Charles Bates – Line Producer) and Inside No 9 (Alistair Widgery – Sound Recordist) are both nominated.

International Programme Sales tells us which British shows are performing well in foreign markets; last year’s winner was Broadchurch which went on to a US remake this year. Nominated this year is Hinterland (Mali Evans – Editor), Doctor Who 50thAnniversary Special (Ed Moore – DoP, 2nd Unit) and Downton Abbey (Dan Evans – Camera Trainee, Fabrizio Sciarra – Steadicam/B Camera Operator, Dailies).

The prestigious Best Single Drama award celebrates the best one off drama series or special of the year. The nominated shows worked on by our clients include: An Adventure in Space and Time (Mathew Patnick – Line Producer, Simon Clark – Sound Recordist, Danny Bishop – A Camera, Katie Player – Production Assistant, Sarah Howe – Boom Operator), Babylon (Anna Czerniavska – Art Department Trainee, Rick Woollard – Camera Operator, Dailies, Iain Kitching – Editor), Murdered by my Boyfriend (Dylan Voigt – Sound Recordist, Ben Jeffes – Boom Operator) and The Great Train Robbery (Tracie Wright – Line Producer, Danny Bishop –B Camera/ Steadicam).

The Awards will be announced on the 4th of February in a ceremony in Grosvenor House, the entire shortlist is HERE, and we would like to take this opportunity to wish everyone involved the very best of luck.